Musselburgh Gets Royal Approval For £100,000 The Queens Cup
Tuesday 2 August 2016, 10:28

Musselburgh Gets Royal Approval For £100,000 The Queens Cup 

New Easter Saturday £200k Meeting and Scottish Cheltenham Trials Weekend!


Musselburgh Racecourse has been given Royal approval to name a new race after Her Majesty The Queen. 

The Queen’s Cup will be a £100,000 staying open heritage handicap race over 14 furlongs for four year olds and upwards and is the feature race on a £200,000 card which launches a new Easter Saturday fixture for the East Lothian track. 

Musselburgh Racecourse chief executive, Bill Farnsworth, said he hoped The Queen’s Cup would be established as the first of the Flat season’s top staying handicaps, preceding the Chester Cup, Northumberland Plate and the Betfred Ebor. 

In a shake-up of fixtures Musselburgh has swapped its traditional Easter Sunday fixture with Ffos Las racecourse to allow it to extend the long running Scottish Cheltenham Trials event in February in to a weekend festival, while the Good Friday fixture has been snapped up by ARC. 

The Scottish Cheltenham Trials weekend (4-5 Feb) will boast prize money of £250,000 and a new four-mile race, the £40,000 Edinburgh National, will be the longest race ever run at Musselburgh and a preparation race for the big staying events at the Cheltenham Festival and the Grand National.

Bill Farnsworth said: “We are delighted to have obtained the personal approval of The Queen to name a race in her honour following her recent visit to the course to mark our Bi-Centenary year. We hope to establish The Queen’s Cup as the Flat season’s first top quality staying handicap, and while it was disappointing to lose our Good Friday meeting, we are excited about the prospect of building a first class Easter Saturday fixture. 

“The swap with Ffos Las of our Easter Sunday meeting allows us to extend our highly successful Scottish Cheltenham Trials to two days and with more than £250,000 on offer, this will be another step forward in cementing Musselburgh’s credentials as a leading UK track.” 

Meanwhile, Musselburgh is back racing on Friday (5 Aug) with the Archerfield Cup Race Day which has £62,500 prize money over the seven races, including the £25,00 feature race the Archerfield Cup Handicap over 1m 6f. 

Bill Farnsworth added: “We have some excellent entries from the leading southern stables including Sir Mark Prescott and William Haggas so it will be an excellent Friday afternoon of racing.” 

Gates open at noon on Friday and the first race is at 2pm. For more information and to book tickets please visit www.musselburgh-racecourse.co.uk

Musselburgh’s 2017 Jumps Meetings

  • Sunday 1st January – New Year’s Day

  • Tuesday 3rd January - Bank Holiday Raceday

  • Friday 20th January – Jumps Meeting

  • Saturday 4th February – Cheltenham Trials

  • Sunday 5th February – Cheltenham Trials

  • Wednesday 1st March 2017

  • Friday 24th March – Jumps Meeting 


Musselburgh’s 19 fixture Flat season starts on 15 April 2017, Easter Saturday.

  • Saturday 15th April – Easter Saturday 

  • Thursday 4th May – Flat Meeting

  • Friday 5th May – Flat Meeting

  • Friday 26th May– Friday Night at the Races

  • Saturday 3rd June – The Edinburgh Cup 

  • Saturday 17th June –  Stobo Castle Ladies Day featuring The Scottish Sprint Cup 

  • Friday 23rd June - Harness Racing 

  • Saturday 24th June - Champions’ Day

  • Friday 14th July (evening) – Friday Night at the Races 

  • Tuesday 25th July – Family Day

  • Friday 4th August– Friday Night at the Races

  • Friday 11th August – The Archerfield Cup

  • Wednesday 30th August – Flat Meeting

  • Thursday 31st August – Flat Meeting

  • Friday 8th September – Flat Meeting

  • Saturday 15th September – Caledonian Brewery Raceday featuring the Caledonian Beer Festival

  • Sunday 1st October – Supporting Your Services Raceday

  • Monday 16th October – Flat Meeting


Musselburgh’s 2017 Jumps Meetings

  • Wednesday 8th November – Jumps Meeting
  • Thursday 30th November – Saltire Raceday
  • Monday 11th December – Christmas Meeting